Gitama's World

By Gitama

Day 10..........Another Planet

Today we docked in at Tauranga …..we left the boat early and hired a mini bus and took off for Rotarua.
As we got closer the smell of sulphur (rotten egg gas) became very pongy.
It was a beautiful 75 klm drive …. there were some views that took ones breath away and a lovely little Morae (Moari Long house) nestled at the side of a sparkling lake.
Walking down to the large geyser I passed black mud blipping away (not taking pics that is) releasing little puffs of steam as it did so……it was rather eerie in the quiet there just listening to the hiss and blip of the mud spitting and popping.
Just around the corner was the most incredible sight….the BIG geyser…it really was incredible and I have to say that this place was also on my bucket list…it didn’t disappoint.
It was a little like walking around on some strange and beautiful planet the colour of the water a light turquoise blue …the rocks white with stalactite like formations dripping with water…fairy like too.
At some stage I sat down on some stones…I was told it would help my sore back (bit sore from carrying around backpacks and cameras) as I sat down it felt fabulous until there must of been a bit of a crack in the stone…… I felt like I had been bit on the arse by a hornet…….much to the amusement of others I screamed and cussed blue.
There were so many pics I could of posted today……but the pale green and pink of the stones (that looked as if they had a life of their own) was just so delicate and lovely with the steam rising from them..it had to be the one.
I sat on deck and watched our departure from Tauranga and the slow setting of the sun …which was absolutely gobsmacking………the other side looking East everything ocean and all was a most beautiful rosy pink…..I think the best sunset so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.