Cygnus

By Cygnus

Breakfast with the birds

Sorry for the strange quality of this photo and poor focus - I took it through the window this morning and haven't got anything better from my attempts during the rest of the day.

I thought it was quite appropriate though; some blippers have been discussing reading 'The Goldfinch' by Donna Tartt and here is a goldfinch! I bought the book for a chum for Christmas as Amazon were doing really good deals on the hardback. I must ask her what she thought ....

I'm pleased that the birds have now found the feeders at various places around the garden. We have one with 'wild bird mix' which totally disappears within a few hours! The Ards Man spotted blue-tits doing a bit of 'editing' of the seeds, choosing particularly large, dark seeds and throwing the rest out of the feeder! Cheeky things. Have they not heard of sustainability? Obviously not.

It is very cold and windy here today. Sorry to be a bore about weather, but I'm very keen to get my Spring wardrobe out and put away my boots and opaque tights. Not this week, I'm afraid.

I'm off now to try to work out how to teach my little astronomers about the 'equation of time' i.e. how to tell the time from a shadow stick. All I need is the Sun for some shadows!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.