wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Psych!

Twice last night Ethel sang her song. Twice I went flying out of bed. Twice I asked her "Where is it Ethel? Where is it?" My worry is that she would have another live mouse and bring it into my bed.
Twice she looked at me and said "psych out!!!!!" Then brought me this little blue catnip mouse. Then she laughed. Only another cat lover can understand that. They also say the f word like when I took a live one out of her mouth last week.
Little did I know what joy each morning would bring.
Mice are not easily seen on oriental rugs. However I will share that mice are not easily seen without my glasses either.
When I say my prayers at night, I feel a bit selfish at praying for a mouse free morning. The change of seasons brings them in.

Speaking of the change in seasons......I have hives. Uticuria. It means hives. I get these at the change of seasons. What happens sometimes is that they start to appear at the worst times and in the worst places. Always in a covered place. Usually a covered dark place. They pop out one at a time. Usually as I am with a patient, and, I can't scratch them. However I can feel the joy of them starting to appear.
It's never good
It's never a good time.
There is only one real treatment. Stoner drugs. The Xyzal that I took a couple of weeks ago and got stoned on.
This is somewhat of a good sign as that means spring is coming.
What is not a good sign is when you run into the hallway and think you are alone and you start to scratch and scratch and scratch. Usually with your hands down your pants and up your shirt. Sigh with a little bit of relief and see two medical residents. Staring at you somewhat open mouthed and holding coffee cups forgotten in that moment threatening to fall to the ground.
Yeah nothing says special quite like that little scenario. As I lay here I can feel the starting to pop out on my back.
The only one here is Ethel.
She doesn't care. She is dreaming of mice and catnip and laughing at her mom.

What Ethel? What did you say?
"April first is next week. Watch out mom"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.