Cygnus

By Cygnus

Keep tilting and turning, little world.....

......bringing me out of darkness into light. I'm glad I live on a world with seasons. Just now I have got over my love of long, dark nights and frosty days. I'm craving light and warmth!

Our little Earth orbits the Sun on an elliptical path, sometimes closer to the Sun, sometimes further away. Most folk think that we are closer during our summer months, but that's not the case - we are actually further away from the Sun during July and August. It's all to do with that little tilt.

Us folks in the northern hemisphere are tilted slightly towards the Sun during our summer months so the lovely photons that have travelled through vacuum to meet us hit the Earth in a more concentrated pattern - and we have more heat! The tilt also means the Sun is higher in the sky and we have longer days.

Bring it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.