Cygnus

By Cygnus

Snug as a bug

The good news is that I felt well enough to get out of bed and make a rhubarb crumble this afternoon. There is no bad news!

Well, there was almost bad news because I left the crumble in the oven after the buzzer had gone off, as I was marking some pupils' work and got too engrossed! The Ards Man is most pleased that I am up and about again - I think he was getting a bit fed up with bringing me cups of tea. I'm sorry to have to confess that I am not a good patient. Hard to believe, I know.

The excitement this morning was a shield bug on the compost bin. The Ards Man came in to report this, so he was dispatched with the camera (in his role as photographer's assistant) to capture a photo of said bug. And here it is! I also took a shot of the rhubarb before it got cooked, but I thought you would like the shield bug. It seems to be a hawthorn shield bug, with the unfortunate name Acanthosoma haemorrhoidale. I think this one must be a bit confused, as they are not usually out and about so early.

Anyway, I'll be up and out to school again tomorrow. The Ards Man can return to his usual peace and tranquillity sans demanding wife ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.