granpabear

By granpabear

BEAUTY IS DEEPER THAN SKIN

OK kids. E=mc2. Einstein said that all inspiration comes from outside of you. He was right about that. And maybe some other stuff too.
I studied a few log stairs, and none would pass code requirements. Usually 7.5 inches max rise, 10 inch min run. Equal every where. How to do this with an irregular shaped log?
What came to me from outside. Cut a regular stair jack to code from 2x12 lumber, notch the logs almost through to the face, leaving the thickness of a tread on the top. Slide them on the jacks, and shim or widdle them until they are perfect.
The building inspector comes, and is scratching his head. What's the matter? I asked. He said that he didn't know what to do with this. No way to measure it. No way it could pass. I told him that I had gone to a good deal of trouble to make them perfect, and asked him if he did not know how to measure stairs. I think that I was visibly upset! Grabbed my framing square, level, and tape measure, and did that task. He just walked away shaking his head. Which is a good thing for a building inspector to do.
These logs came with the help of my good friend Dave, who knows a guy with property in the mountains. They were on the ground. We just cut what looked about right and to the length that looked about right. When done, not one had to be recut. Another coincidence!
Oh yes, Grandma painted a bear on the one rock. I etch a petroglyph chicken on the other, and granddaughter practiced some printing on the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.