Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Annual Beauty

Once a year this beauty shows-up on our patio. Often she arrives unexpected. I mean we know she is coming, but then it seems all of a sudden, she has arrived and her beauty is spectacular. We do almost nothing but occasionally water the pot her bulb is planted in.

So currently our patio will populated with beauties and babies. We have hummingbird eggs about to hatch and the sparrows have a nest of babies huddled down in the ferns. The chirping from somewhere deep within the foliage is a wonder to hear.

I spent the morning at the doctor's office. I had made the appointment for two reasons. My wrists and hands are aching entirely too much. I'm sure over the years I have carried entirely too much weight as I haul around bundles of handouts for students and heavy textbooks, and also I carry my students' submitted projects back to my office. So the doctor sent me to have my hands X-rayed and she made the referral I requested for the orthopedic department.

Then I showed the doctor the report I had been given one year ago from the "Life Screening" people that shows I have COPD. I'm not a smoker. When I was a kid, I smoked about a pack of cigarettes a week for approximately 8-10 years. I haven't smoked since I was 25, so I'm puzzled by the COPD report, but I am noticing a lack of breath when I walk up stairs, so getting this checked seemed important. So my doctor sent a referral to the respiratory department. She also order lots of blood work. I then went to the lab, where they took six tubes of blood from a vein in my right arm. I absolutely hate going to the doctor (my apologies if you are a doctor).

So that's my Monday. I hope yours was good.
Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.