A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Of all the magnets on my grandparents' fridge growing up, this was my favourite. (The old phone lost its novelty somewhat when the battery started to run low!)

For as long as I can remember, there has never been a time when all of my loved ones have been in one place. There was a time when I really envied people who had all of their family contained within one town, or even two.

Sometimes I still feel the sadness of separation; as I did today when leaving Wales to return to Scotland. There are days when it is particularly intense and others when I do not dwell on it so much.

However, I am thankful for the sweet friends and wonderful family in my life. I am thankful that I don't feel a desperately strong tie to one particular place. I take great pleasure in knowing that I could travel to many parts of Britain and still find myself within easy reach of a familiar face. I am glad that it makes me appreciate all the more time spent together. Yes, I even enjoy that it gives me something to talk about when I first meet someone!

So while there are times when the miles seem far, I remind myself how wonderful it is to have such lovely friends & family to miss :) Indeed, thankful that the bond remains ever strong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.