Thames at Richmond

Today's the day ................... for memories

I went by train with Will today down to Richmond-on-Thames in Surrey. He has a meeting tomorrow - and I just went along for the ride.

It's a place that has lots of memories - for both of us. Fifty years ago, my Dad took up a new job there and I went to live there with my family. I wasn't there long because after three years, I went off to university - but it was where I went to secondary school and did my A-levels.

Forty years ago, I returned to London - this time to take up my own first job. I lived in a flat not far from here. It was in a little jeweller's shop in one of the lanes in Richmond that Will and I chose my engagement ring.

It's a long time ago now - but I remember it as if it were yesterday ...............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.