From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I have gone nuts!

Well, I have eaten too many nuts and feel too sleepy and full up to do this write up. Hopefully I shall liven up shortly. Last night before I switched the light off, I quickly added a bag of pistachio nuts to my Tesco shopping list due for delivery today. I really like them and hadn't had any for ages. Anyway, I had weird dreams after that about nuts and dancing. Why the dancing? The guttering outside my window is a bit wonky and it rained for much of the night. Water dripping on my window sill put me in mind of the Riverdance.

Despite being awake half the night and hungry, I was fine today! I was working from home anyway so knew I would survive. I spent much of the day tidying up my report package from yesterday and am pleased to say it's looking good now.

Tesco Man came at 10:15 with my pistachio nuts (and other things too) and that was about it for this morning. Around lunchtime, I topped up the bird feeders with nuts and worms. The greedy starlings started descending before I'd even shut the back door! Lucky (my pigeon) arrived soon after looking very well and was stuffing himself with mealworms which the starlings didn't look too happy about but they weren't going to cause any trouble.

A little later, I glanced up while washing my lunch dishes and was alarmed to see a dark shape at the bottom of the feeder. I was horrified thinking the rat was back and ran to the cupboard to get my machine gun out but then I remembered I didn't have one and picked up my camera instead. Imagine my delight when I realised it was a hedgehog! I'd never seen one of those in the garden before! He was quite happy munching on the dropped mealworms the other messy diners had dropped.

Quite a cutie large....

As for me, I'm ashamed to say I ate all the pistachio nuts during the course of the afternoon. I had no room for my cremated pork chop later as I had completely destroyed my appetite. I think that's why I never normally buy pistachio nuts. I clearly have no discipline and am unable to eat less than a whole bag once I get started. I expect I'll have nightmares tonight.....

Track? To go with my spiky new friend, let's have this one from The Searchers - Needles And Pins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.