Sweet Potato Sky

By sweetpotatosky

What kind of a tree is that?

Linus: Gee, do they still make wooden Christmas trees?
Charlie Brown: This little green one here seems to need a home.
Linus: I don't know, Charlie Brown. Remember what Lucy said? This doesn't seem to fit the modern spirit.
Charlie Brown: I don't care. We'll decorate it and it'll be just right for our play. Besides, I think it needs me.
[picks up tree; a lot of needles fall off]


I absolutely thought of this scene from A Charlie Brown Christmas Special when I saw this awful, pitiful, half naked tree. In fact I'd have been tempted to buy it if they hadn't wanted twenty five quid for it that I don't have. Oddly enough though, when I went shopping for a tree the other day it seemed they were all this way. Apparantly the tree of 2009 is thin with hardly any branches. Yuk.

My Christmas tree is a huge part of my holiday season. I love coming home, putting on the lights and having a relaxing night. And I love spending ages putting it all together just so. BF brought me home some gorgeous decorations from his business trip to Hungary which I love as well as a cute fat fairy that now has a place on top of my tree. It's this 'perfection' which is probably why I was so upset when I came home the day after decorating it to find the cats had somehow got into the living room and chewed through the wires, leaving the lights dead. As I sobbed down the phone to my mum about my tree being ruined, she took pity and came over the next again day to apply new lights and managed to do it without disturbing a single ornament. That woman is something special. :D

Christmas Nice Thing Day 12: Hmmm I genuinely don't think I've done anything nice today so I'm going to have to use the rubbish one of buying and making BFs lunch. Something I should be doing anyway, but I'm using it since it's apparantly been a pretty selfish day. :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.