Mavishjm

By Mavishjm

Fake it

Today I watched a talk show in Jeff's class, a social psychologist presenting her research and thoughts. She's actually a psychologist and also a lecturer of a MBA school, and she conducted a research by observing her students in order to find out if poses could govern a person's mind and action. A confident and successful people usually like the poses that can stretch their bodies, opening their arms like they are going to occupy this place, and the opposite side of people usually curl their bodies in order to protect themselves and preventing to touch others.
They actually conducted a experiment, using the job interview scenario. Some of the participants are told to do the exaggerating and confident poses and the others were told to do the insecure poses before the interview. Then the people who stretched their bodies are find out to have obvious higher 'fighting Hormones ' level and lower stress hormones level. And they perform quite better than the opposite participants. This experiment refers that poses could govern one's mind and performance.
Well she also told the audience one of her story that she had an car accident when she was 19, and after the injury that she was told to have much lower IQ level compared before. She was so frustrated and be kicked out of college. But she worked so hard and hard and hard and finally she got into a university everyone said she's don't deserve to be there and she couldn't make it. But she still finish the school use 8 years. Now she's in Harvard, she had forgotten that she's not supposed to be here, but she faked it all the way until she finally become it. One day a student who always kept silence in the class told her that she think she's not supposed to be there she don't deserve it. That actually made her think about her own experience and told her: you are supposed to be here, if you don't think so, just fake it even though you are scaring to death and trembling to you legs, just do it again and again and again until one day you realise that: wow, I'm actually doing this, and though I fake it but I'm really being it. So fake it until you actually become it.
I was once got into a top notch university and I didn't think I deserve it because I'm not as good as others. Until now I still feeling inferior although I really don't have to. I've been to afraid to be in a place that I'm not supposed to be, afraid to be gossiped by others. Ok, I can just fake it, and see if it really works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.