Views of my world

By rosamund

Sewing

The women in our family have been sewers for many, many years. I don't know who taught grandma but she taught me as well as my mum and auntie C and I, in turn, have taught Freya. There were two big weddings in our family in 1976 before my mum died so one of the few memories I have of her is sitting at her sewing machine making my flower girl dresses. One of my favourite outfits I had as a child was a fabulous red skirt and bolero style waistcoat set that Auntie C made for me, it was one of those skirts that made you want to twirl around until you were dizzy ! One of the first things I ever sewed was a brides dress for my Sindy doll and I was telling Freya tonight about my dreadful attempt at a pair of MC Hammer trousers when I was her age! We had a fab afternoon sewing together in the sunshine, she made a skirt and top from an old dress while I altered a couple of her vintage dresses to her specifications and I've nearly finished up cycling one of my old dresses into a tunic top based on the design of one of my favourite tops. I used all the a Great British a Sewing Bee hints and tips and I think May and Patrick might even be impressed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.