at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

An Ivy hat

When Euan got back from his walking trip early this afternoon, Ivy had clearly noticed he'd been gone and wasn't up for letting him go again. He left the living room to go to the kitchen and Ivy was head butting the door trying to crawl to him.

She's going through a vocal phase just now. This morning she would appear at my feet with something in her hand- for example a purple flower and say 'ga dabawaga ga' and I'd say 'Is it a purple flower?' and she'd put her head on one side and say 'gada' and crawl off again. She clearly knows that the dinner table is a place of conversation, as soon as she goes in her chair she starts up. My absoloute favourite of her noises just now is when you say something to her, and she puts her head one side and says 'ehhh?' Everytime she does it I can't help laugh, will need to teach her 'd0n't say what say pardon at some point'

I spent last night after Ivy went to bed carefully glueing artificial flowers onto the book rack in Ivy's jungle nook. As soon as she got downstairs she promptly headed over and pulled off all the ones she could reach (like the purple flower we later had a conversation about). This afternoon she and I read stories together in her nook and it was lovely. I sat down and opened a book and she arrived over looking excited.

This evening, our friend Laura H appeared at the door and we had pork tacos and played board games. I laughed so hard I cried. I'm coming down with a bit of a cold and have something of a weeze. Laura and Euan had a good time laughing at my Mutley impression.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.