We've been here before...

I walked to work this morning. Ok, slight fib, I walked two thirds of the way to work this morning; measured in number of stops that the bus would make. I walked a bit, hopped on a bus for the middle bit and walked the last bit. It was in the minuses but not sure by how many degrees. Cold enough to have sore legs (should have worn trousers rather than a skirt) and a very runny nose. The canal is frozen, though not sure it's frozen enough to take my weight just yet and not an experiment I'm about to put to the test! The ducks that were there a few weeks back have long gone.

Of course there was a reason I didn't take the car - had a Christmas lunch today - nice Italian place a stone's throw from home. No sign of turkey (or pasta) though...I chose lamb! Fourteen of us has a nice afternoon with the usual Secret Santa gifts and the most delicious tiramisu cake that was arranged for the big-boss of the region who is retiring. A few of us then went on for a couple of drinks up in town, but I came home at a reasonable hour, to get myself into some degree of readiness for leaving on Friday. Ready for airline and baggage-handler strikes and the 'extreme' snowfall that the UK is bracing itself for...grrrrr.

Decided to walk to work again tomorrow. However, I shall reassess that little plan in the morning - depends on how much colder it gets. -9 right now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.