SilverImages

By SilverImages

Shake your tree

A walk with dad again at 7.30am along the canal, I'm due in the office this morning to follow up from yesterday so we have enough time for an hours walk, then I can be back home for 9am breakfast and in the office by 10am.

This tree has fallen down across the canal, taking half of the bank [and someones garden and steps] with it. The tow path is open, the tree has been cut back to the bank and it's clear for walking. Another fresh morning, no sign of the Kingfisher this morning, but the Chiffchaff is singing again.

Seeing the fissures in the tree took me back to woodwork at school, where I had to draw the various faults - shakes - in the tree. The radial ones are star shakes but I guess the ones on this tree are heart shakes as they extend into the heartwood. Anyone out there know feel free to let me know. And of course the title is from the lyrics to the Steve Miller Band song "The Joker".

I manage to get to the office on time, and after an unexpectedly informal meeting I get on with preparing the cost information for a couple of hours. I'm due back home to take Dad to visit Mum at the hospital at 3pm, so I don't have much spare time. I manage to finish up by about 1.30pm, then head off to find some lunch and get back home to collect K and Dad. All seems to work out ok and the visit goes according to plan.

Back home and check to see if anything more is needed - sigh of relief when there's nothing, so I can get on with finishing up last weeks project. Getting a bit tight for time as I've also arranged to visit a client in Cardiff tomorrow afternoon to wrap up the project I was working on two weeks ago. Ah well, see what tomorrow brings...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.