Still Here!

By Yorkhull

First Pic of the Day

After taking over hundred photos during the day I found myself unable to decide what to post. So I decided to let what set the tone for the day be my window on the Dales. As I opened my bedroom window this morning I saw the blue skies and the wonderful vista that I have uploaded just now. I took better pictures during the day but in the end I decided on this one.

My first dilemma was whether I went out immediately to make the most of the sunshine or did some writing first which is the reason why I'm here. I decided to set myself a target of 2000 words. I reached this target remarkably quickly and was able to set out to enjoy the best part of the day.

I went from Wensleydale down to Kettlewell going through the villages of West Burton, Starbotton, Buckden and Kettlewell. I had a light lunch at the Cottage Tearooms in Kettlewell before returning for a visit to Aysgarth Falls. On my way down I remembered that it was probably the 40th anniversary of my first visit to Buckden.

In 1974 when I was training to be a teacher I came with a group of teachers from Garforth Comprehensive to this area. Cars were parked in Starbotton and then we walked to Bucken and then up the hills to Buckden Pike. After the Pike we followed the hills for a while before descending into Hubberholme.

There we adjourned to the George Inn. I'll never forget that pub. Instead of serving hand-pumped beer it served foot -pumped beer which was a delight. The landlord also only had quail eggs and therefore he made repeated orders of quail egg sandwiches to satisfy the thirsty walkers. We then in mid afternoon, somewhat drunkenly, walked back down the valley by and sometimes in the streams until we reached our cars and returned home.

I was unable to trace my steps but did spot the various landmarks in my drive today. I then returned to the hotel, did some more work and then spent ages trying to decide what photo to upload. I shall post some more on Facebook for those who want to see my days unfold. I'll send the link tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.