twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

After a rubbish day at work, it was back to a rubbish day in the office.

Loads of pointless e mails, loads of pointless calls, loads of pointless everything.

So, head down, tried to stay awake.

Lunchtime, Nic and I wandered down Calton Road, up Calton Hill; blew some cobwebs away and forgot about a lot. Not seen much of Nic lately, so was a good catch up.

Afternoon followed the same as the morning, but between 5 and 6, I felt I was getting there....

Home, supermarket for essentials like pak choy and ginger root....

Oh and wine.

Spent a few hours hovering, more post holiday laundry, cooked rice for dinner with toasted pistachios, tarragon and barberries. And rhubarb with star anise, ginger and sugar, stewed for 6 minutes.

So with dinner done, I packed up and headed over, first time I've done the Mound since hill chasers; not quite such an impressive performance this time...!

Slight delay whilst things settled down; I took my blip of the museum at night.

Then stupendous dinner, cod and sweet chilli sauce with the nutty rice and cabbage singed in butter.

And we chose the FB holiday snaps; chatted; she fell asleep on me around midnight so I swung home; had a friendly chat with a private hire cab who overtook me on the turn off Inverleith Row onto Ferry Road; and into a deep satisfying sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.