Zip-Lining

Jack Ewing, the owner of Hacienda Barú talked to us today after breakfast. It’s a very long and wonderful story but the shorter version is he turned Hacienda Barú used to be used for cattle raising and hunting and he turned it into a wildlife refuge. He’s an incredibly fascinating guy with some great stories of the place.

After the talk, we walked over to the highway to see the tunnels Ewing had made them install under the highway during construction. Apparently, animals have adapted to using them pretty well. We did a not so strenuous but very hot walk through the trails on the property. Saw the turtle hatchery and some cocoa plants.

We had the afternoon to ourselves and all of us opted to go zip-lining during that time. Here’s a picture of my zip-lining group looking real cute before getting real sweaty. There were eight zip-line trails. The guide kept trying to tell us stories about the plants and animals but we knew all of the information he was telling us and made his life easier. Zip-lining was real awesome. At one point we zip-lined into a tree in the canopy.

We walked through the butterfly sanctuary afterwards. I was really excited that a butterfly let me hold it. I went to put it on my face (as I had done with so many butterflies with this trip) and it peed all over my face. There’s a lovely picture of me looking hot, sweaty, sunburnt, and disgusted because a butterfly had peed on me.

The rest of the afternoon was spent in the pool, literally. We only got out for meals and beer.

Quote
"Life is either a daring adventure, or it is nothing."
-Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.