at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

(play) date

My mum always says a parent's job is to make themselves not needed by their child anymore. Maybe i've been slightly too good at my job...

Ivy went round to Seb's house this afternoon by herself (well obviously she didn't get there herself, but she remained there herself and I got to home and hoover her nursery). When I went to collect her a couple of hours later I expected a fractious Ivy- she should have been overdue an afternoon nap and a feed. Clearly I underestimated both Ivy's independence and her love of Katy, her future mother in law. It took her a good 5 minutes to notice me and then I only got a quick glance. When she did want to come to me, I got a quick kiss on the cheek before she remembered about the overdue feed thing. She then stayed and played with Seb for a further hour- as soon as we left, she was out for the count- she can't run away from her naps forever.

Euan skyped Ivy before her dinner. She was very impressed and gave him her best 'eh?'s

Ivy is getting very good at anticipating what comes next. For example, when I was giving her post-bath massage tonight (which she sat perfectly still for to let me rub her back) she started laughing when I was only on the second toe of 'this little piggy'; If I point my phone at her to take a picture, she screws up her eyes and smiles (I think in anticipation of the flash- it's very funny. I got her doing it on film today); and after meals she knows we wipe her hands and her face- so she'll hold out her hands in turn. She got very grumpy a few days ago when Euan wiped her face before her hands.

Tomorrow is the end of Ivy and I having the house to ourselves- Euan is back and Granny Grant is coming to visit for a week. Ivy will be beside herself- lots of people to say 'eh?' too. I'm looking forward to having more hands about- Having and Ivy to myself is great fun but also hard work, particularly in the evening- dinner for Ivy currently involves 4 bowls (finger food, main, pudding, breast milk porridge) and making it single handed whilst entertaining a 7 month old who is tired is challenging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.