From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I'm definitely my mother's daughter....

A strange statement for my title I think! Anyway, I spoke to mom yesterday and she seems absolutely fine after her cataract operation on Friday. She is very pleased with herself for going through with it on her own and I am really pleased and proud too. Mom rang me late last night to tell me something she was too ashamed to tell me at the time but then decided I might find it funny. It's the sort of thing that happens to me all the time!

When she had run out of the hospital after her procedure, she stood in the bus shelter thinking she was in great time for the 52 back to Burns Statue Square. She waited a few minutes checking her watch as best she could. After a while, she got slightly concerned and decided to ask the other two people in the bus shelter with her if she was at the right stop. It was then that she noticed that both the man and the lady were wearing slippers, dressing gowns and smoking like chimneys! Mom wasn't familiar with the fact that there are smoking shelters at most hospitals these days for the use of hospital staff and also patients who are desperate and able to escape for a crafty ciggie. The two patients were helpless laughing when she spoke to them but were able to point her to the correct stop a couple of proper bus shelters down where she did get her bus a few seconds later.

Today was a quiet day which is usual for a Sunday. I missed the best picture of the day early on. I was drying my hair and glanced at the bird feeders as a flash of red had caught my eye. A beautiful woodpecker with a gorgeous little white face with bits of black was staring at me with his wonderful bright red tail feathers showing from one of the suet cake holders. I just gaped at him like a goldfish. The camera was in the front room so not handy and the bird flew off soon after. He looked more shocked than me. I don't blame him as I was dressed like bloody Darth Vadar in my usual black clothing pointing a light sabre hairdryer at him! Poor little soul!

Oh well. Maybe he will come back now he knows the food is reasonable if I haven't scared him off forever.

Today's picture is the same little fellow again. I like him!

See him grow....

Track? The Animals again with a wonderful version of a John Lee Hooker track - Boom Boom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.