elfin

By elfin

New life starts here

So I haven't blipped for a while (well ok 4 months or so!) but it just didn't feel right. But so much is happening - or about to happen - in my life at the moment that it feels right to record some of it. I don't know how long I'll keep this up but let's see.

Today is the first day of me not being at work - I won't say on maternity leave as that doesn't officially kick in until 2 June (or sooner if the baby decides to come a bit early) but using holiday. It's all starting to feel real now.
Key highlights of the last few weeks have been:
- my very clever and talented mum completing the nursery curtains (I'm sure they'll feature in a blip soon), knitting a pram blanket, a cot blanket and an amazing shawl plus her and dad upcycling the Moses basket both her and me used as babies. She's now on cardigan and booties!
- the in laws upcycling a shelving unit we had and painting it bright colours to match the nursery. This baby is going to have one stylish room.
- attending nct and local midwife classes and learning a bit more about what's coming. I surprisingly don't feel too nervous about labour and feel prepared as I'll ever be for it
- planning the baby's coming home outfit with the fella and doing lots and lots of shopping in mamas and papas, mothercare and boots for things for the nursery, baby and hospital bag.
- some lovely gifts and most importantly kind words and comments from my colleagues. I will miss them - well most of them - but ready to step out of the working world for a year.
- generally feeling so close to the fella and being so happy together. I cannot wait for us to be a proper family

So that's me. Busy day planned - chilling followed by hairdressers! Going to make the most of these last few weeks of calm

Ps slight cheat on the photo as was taken nearly 3 weeks ago - bump is even bigger now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.