Scenes from my desk

By alaistairsdesk

AAAAArrrrrggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

So when Autoglass phoned to say my rear windscreen was in, it transpired that my office address was covered by the Irvine branch. But as the car was now at home, it would now be the Glasgow depot, unless I wanted to drive down to Irvine.

So I set off, and all was not well. Car seemed to be sluttering. It's the first time it had moved in over a week. I had topped up the battery before I left.

Anyhow, just onto the M8 and it died completely. I managed to drift over 3 lanes to get to the hard shoulder. A bit of "holding your breath" as I couldn't see out the back window, and the mirrors had started to ice up.

Anyway - I made it!

Called the AA, and they said 3hrs! Thankfully, after 40 mins, I got a call, and they were there 10 minutes later. Due to the busy day, they were really only moving cars to safety - but the guy was really cool, and asked where I was heading. Just home please??? So he took me all the way.

Chatting in the cab - I mentioned that retiring the Porsche for the winter was definately back on the cards. Well would you believe it! He had an old Hyundai he had got for his step son...just put it through an MOT. However, as it was a 1.3, the insurance for a 17yr old was over £1000...so he was planning to get rid of it!

"how about £500, saves me all the advertising and stuff" he said. I said "Deal Done!"

If you can't trust an AA patrol man to know about cars, who can you...

Anyone able to give me a lift over to Cambuslang for 6:30pm tomorrow night?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.