Rolling, rolling, rolling

I haven't had a good week this week. I've been tired, grumpy and emotional. This is a Susan without the running high. I don't like her as much.

I haven't had a good run since the 5th May. Well ok, if I'm honest, I haven't had a good run in months now. And it's killing me.

Weirdly it hasn't been my ankles stopping me, they've been fine. It's my calves, they've been so tight and painful. 2 miles is all they could manage the other day before seizing up.

I didn't know what to do.

So I got out the foam roller and decided to use it on my calves. Torture. They are so tight - they've never been like this before. The foam roller only usually hurts around my IT bands. I probably should have guessed it before now, but this is just the solution I'm looking for - the foam roller is just what I need.

After using the roller, I went out for a run and the legs were fine. Success! 3 miles without pain! Woohoo! Back home for more torture rolling afterwards.

I feel so much better for both the run, and hopefully having a solution. It'll probably take a wee while, but I intend to roll a little each day until it stops being painful :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.