The arrogance of man

According to Ichiro Serizawa (a character in the new Godzilla film) the arrogance of man is thinking nature is in our control... and not the other way around.

No, the arrogance of man is thinking that yet another remake of the Godzilla story is going to be better than it's predecessors. It was not.

Call me sentimental, or just a product of the 80's/90's but I far preferred the 1998 Matthew Broderick version. It had soul.

This remake contained monsters that I seem to remember seeing as much smaller versions in the Jim Henson film, The Dark Crystal, when Jen and Kira ride them through the land to get to the crystal. They were much more entertaining then.

As you may have guessed, I got free tickets to an advance preview of Godzilla tonight. It actually opens on Thursday to the public. I went with my friend Alison from work, who you can see standing by the movie poster. Great poster, shame about the film. Seriously, I wouldn't bother - more cheese than epic.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.