Feldenkrais

Today didn't start too well - I woke up with a completely blocked nose and a tickly throat. I haven't been sick in ages, the cold seemed to dissipate during the day, but now it's getting later, it seems to be making a reappearance.

I had an appointment to see Jae Gruenke tonight after work to look at my running style. This was a free session after my workshop last week. She uses the Feldenkrais method of movement education to help you become a better runner. Do you remember my foot bone that was hurting in January? The podiatrist and the running shop thought I just needed new shoes, so I got done and it went away. Now 400 miles later the pain is coming back so I need new shoes.

Apparently though, it wasn't just the shoes, when I run my right leg comes in more than the left and this is what is causes the pain, which is exacerbated by 'shot' shoes. So yes, I do need new shoes, but I also need to work on my running style. Jae showed me some tips on how to do this - so I've just got to think of that when I run now and hopefully I'll improve. I could keep going to Jae and we could fix it together, but it's not really a big deal and I can't really afford her one-to-ones, so I'll work on it myself!

I ran from work to Jae and then home again. This was the view through Princes Street Gardens at about 5.15 today. I love the green growth that's started on the trees. Oh an important point to note - running part of Princes Street at 5pm is not a good idea - hence the switch to the gardens rather than the street! A much nicer place to be anyway!

Exercise: 4 mile run
May running mileage: 33 miles
2013 running mileage: 438miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.