Nettenet

By Nettenet

Wimbledon Common Windmill

The Windmill has been a distinctive landmark since it was built in 1817 to serve the local community. However it only operated until 1864, when the machinery was removed and it was converted to residential accommodation.

Today the sails have been restored to working order and the building houses a fascinating museum of windmills, with exhibits on rural life and local history.

Mum and dad arrived from Cornwall today. After supper, mum and I went for a lovely stroll over the common. Had a few different blips to choose from but decided on the windmill. I have to admit it's right on my doorstep but I have never visited!! As Millie couldn't manage the common walk I took her for her usual little stroll and I spotted the fox cubs again and yes got a snap or two as well.
Looking forward to a special day tomorrow. Have a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.