Where there's a will...

Sometimes I think the only thing holding me back, is me. I've not had the greatest recovery and I think it's probably, at least partly, psychosomatic.

We all know that running, for me, increases my mental wellbeing. We also know that quite a lot of distance or endurance running is down to your mind. Your mind has to believe your body is strong enough to do it.

My confidence has been somewhat lacking recently. I didn't think I could run, ergo, I couldn't run. The simple thing of being able to run the last couple of days by using the form roller increased my confidence a smidge. I thought maybe I could run.

I went out thinking I'd try for 5 miles. At 2.5 I thought I'd just maybe try 6 instead. At 5, I thought I could just add in another loop, I'd maybe try for 7. At 7 I did the same. So I managed 8 miles today. I'm extremely proud of myself - I've run 12 miles in total this weekend.

In the grand scheme of things it's not a lot, but it's a start! I feel like I'm starting to win again.

These are the train tracks as seen from my run along Fishwives Causeway.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.