A guy named June

This is my cabin.

It's tidy because the ship is rolling and things could slide anywhere
The portholes are firmly closed because of the swell.

It's an outside cabin, "twin for single occupancy", as they say, and it's my comfy little home for the next week and a half. It's on the lowest deck. And virtually below the waterline. Suits me fine.

It's not glitzy. It's not that sort of ship. But the staff are marvellously friendly and the other passengers are interesting and adventurous, and have mostly travelled quite a lot. (This itinerary wouldn't appeal to sun seekers as the focus is on wildlife and natural phenomena).

I've only just met my cabin steward. There's a little notice that says June B is looking after me. I'm being very well looked after too. Everything is spotless and shower gel and stuff is replenished (and I get a chocolate). But I've never seen any women crew on my corridor.

I've just been back down there and I went to ask the charming man who was several cabins along.

On his badge - his name. June.

My friendly equivalent of a boy named Sue :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.