One Last Lighthouse

Since today was the first money day at the golf tournament...there were no cameras allowed.

Yesterdays walk took it out of me, so I only walked 9 holes today...then camped out at the ninth hole. Among others...I followed Fred Funk, Kenny Perry, Peter Jacobsen, Jay Haas, Ian Woosnam, and Rocco Mediate. Fred Funk got in such a funk at #9 that...after finishing the hole...threw his ball into the lake. Ian Woosnam did the same thing. Rocco started his round by grabbing his back. By the time he should have got to #9...he was nowhere to be found. He retired for the day and the tournament.

Best golf names of the players? CHIP Beck. Ken GREEN. Willie WOOD.

After a few hours, I headed north to Grand Haven to see this lighthouse. There were 2 kite surfers in the water. A 3rd guy was taking a break.

"Hey buddy...you care if I give that kite a whirl?"

"You got a wet suit?"

"I don't need NO STINKIN WET SUIT!"

"You ever tried it before?"

"No...but I'm a quick learner, and I'm EXTREMELY coordinated."

I gave in, and put on the guys wet suit. Trust me...the water was freezing.

It was actually easier than I thought it would be. Balance is the key, and all my years of jumping on a trampoline paid dividends in turning the flips.

You'll have to check out my one picture on my FLICKR PAGE. And...you'll have to guess which one is me.

How'd I take the picture? I told you I was coordinated (and fast, too.) 1. Camera on a large breakwater rock. 2. 10 second self-timer set. 3. Push shutter. 4. Run to the water. 5. Work up some speed. 6. Turn the flip.

Another item checked off my bucket list.

Disclaimer: Believe ANY or ALL of the above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.