Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Symmetry

Had a successful bahookie trimming session this morning (the dog). The trick was to occupy the other end (jaws) with a pig’s ear. I rang Pets At Home and asked where their pigs' ears came from - Ireland and the EU. So I reckon they're safe for a treat now and again. Or when you really want to keep the jaws occupied.

He wasn’t bothered by the sound of the clippers at all. I must say - I was rather nervous and didn’t do too close a shave. I can’t imagine him EVER standing still to be groomed.

So this is him, showing off his cute little symmetrical hygienic hind end. He’s used to the neighbours out and about on the back green, and doesn’t bark at them, thank goodness. He even just watches Tinkerbelle the cat, who, having been an indoor cat all her life, is gaining in confidence every day and was even up on the wall looking over to see who does all the yelling on the trampoline.

Last night there was a blood-curdling yelp from Archie who was in his play area. JR and I rushed out to see what had happened, imagining him impaled on the fence or a broken leg... but the neighbours laughed and said that the cat had jumped on the windowsill, and they both (cat and dog) got a fright - Archie yelped and ran, and the cat just ran.

I’ve just taken delivery of a pallet of semi-dried firewood for next winter. About 64 nets, I reckon. Plus a pallet to break up for kindling. The driver of the truck, Sandy, was a really good help and we got the huge pile moved from the pavement in no time. When I tried to offer him a tenner, he said no - ‘It’s all in a day’s work’. What a star!

The wood shed is now stuffed full, and more to go in the back wood shed. I think I’ve hurt my back.

I need to go and have a G&T right now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.