Looking out of the landing window...

wishing ....

waiting ....

wistfully pondering on how great it would be to get the phone call early tomorrow morning to say "Hi, we can't open school today!"....

feeling guilty that I have just had a break from school and already I am praying for just one more day off....

Bad woman.

Couldn't believe my eyes this morning when I turned onto the side street that our school is on to see snow absolutely everywhere. The car park at school was ankle deep (for me - I AM a shortarse), the playground was virtually untouched by teenage hands or feet - such a difference from 15 miles down the road where I live - where there was absolutely nowt!

The car said "-5" this morning. It said "-7" tonight ...it warned me of icy road conditions ... REALLY?!?! My car is so full of common sense.

Busy first day - so busy that it was 6.30 when I got home and then realised I hadn't eaten since last night! Made a lovely saffron risotto with half a bottle of Gewurtztraminer, accompanying oven baked pork steaks in tomato and periperi marinade. Corin and I drank the other half bottle with the meal. Am ready for bed now - but it was lovely to stand in the kitchen, cook together, catch up on our respective days at work, and then sit down to a nice meal, by candlelight no less!

Off to check the weather...again.

Fingers crossed (to be honest it's not that big an issue for me tomorrow - its a light teaching day - its mondays, thursdays and fridays that are the killer days for me). What WAS a shock to the system today was the sheer volume of noise that 25 teenagers in a classroom can generate when they haven't seen each other for two weeks. My ears hurt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.