bucks life

By bucksmiss

Day of rest?

What a difference a day makes. The weather, as predicted has been gloriously sunny but not too hot, with a pleasant breeze.

I had prepared some prayers for church as I thought it was my turn again on the rota but it wasn't. However, the person whose turn it was didn't turn up so my prayers weren't wasted (are they ever?) Divine inspiration in play obviously.

I nipped out to get the car washed and to pick up a few groceries and an iced coffee to bring home. I did the ironing in front of some Alan Titchmarsh and some other rubbish on telly. Then I changed the beds and put some more washing on.

Finally, I got out into the sunny garden and spotted my first two passion flowers of the year (blipped) which surprised me as I didn't think it had been warm enough. I guess I was wrong. These stunning, showy flowers are a great favourite of mine and I bought this particular plant at the Hampton Court Palace Flower Show two years ago.

I did some weeding; pruned the roses and other plants; cut the grass and then got started sorting the pile of stones needed to build the new retaining wall under the blue spruce. It was quite back breaking all that bending and standing but it felt good and I broke the back of the job, while not actually finishing it.

I got the loppers out and hacked away at the holly and laurels to create some light and clear some head room in the back of the garden for when L starts cement mixing, hopefully next week. The green wheelie bin is now full!

I'm now pretty tired but nicely so and feel I have achieved a lot today. It seems my re-charge yesterday did the trick! I'll be chilling out tonight with some telly and am aiming to have a nice shower and then an early night in my clean sheets. Bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.