Ill Crag

My colleague Andy has for the past three years, single mindedly 'bagged' the 214 Wainwright hills in the Lake District, and today was to be his final summit for the bag.

I drove down the M6 to meet him at Seathwaite, and we traversed over Ill Crag, Broad Crag, Scafell Pike, Lingmell and lastly, his 214th, Great End. When I finished the Munros in 2011, I remember being very appreciative of the mini bottle of champagne produced by Mrs AB at the summit of An Teallach. With this in mind, I presented Andy with a bottle of his own, with some plastic picnic champagne glasses.

Frustratingly, the clag rolled in for this final summit, and after our wee bevvy (Andy had also brought some miniatures of Glen Farclas single malt), we stumbled about in the cloud looking for the route off. Some laughing and comedy compass readings ensued, and soon we were back on track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.