Poppy watch 3

A day of dramatic thunderstorms and warm and sunny interludes. During one of the electrical phases of a downpour, my car alarm was triggered - sitting quietly outside my front door. And the raindrops were enormous !

But it passed. And the sun returned.

I made a special journey to check out the poppies by the island on the A5 and A38. I headed for the garden centre as I knew there was a layby on the left hand side from which I could either see the poppies or walk to a decent vantage point. But, because of the roadworks, they've coned it all off completely. They are full and vigorous and the red is beautiful, but the backdrop wasn't particularly scenic. Lovely to see - but maybe not to blip.

The field near to Waitrose on the South Lichfield bypass is developing nicely. The safest place to park is in the car park of the nursery on the right as you head for Burntwood.

The poppies haven't taken over - but with the backdrop of Maple Hayes Hall and lovely trees, this is certainly one to savour.

There will be more to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.