Campo de Miracoli

Translates as the Field of Miracles, presumably because this explains why the Leaning Tower has not yet fallen to the ground, despite its significant long-time departure from the vertical!
The Tower was originally intended to be the Campanile for the Duomo, so where they decided to locate the bells in the end I do not know.
I like this shot...
a. Because the proximity to the Cathedral shows the leaning angle, and
b. Because it was the last picture I managed to take on the day before my camera battery died!
It seems that when I had thought my camera battery was being re-charged in our hotel bedroom - the blessed plug was not working properly!
Can you imagine how I would have felt to have travelled here only to miss out on the one crucial photograph because of dodgy Italian electrics?
The weather today was unbelievably hot with a shade maximum of 37C, and out of the shade felt like standing in an oven.
Fluid consumption a high priority! Plenty of Prosecco being consumed....a medical necessity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.