Proud Weegie

By Shiv

D is for....

....DAFT !

Today I swapped my Friday off for a Wednesday as No 3 had a school trip to the beach (and I was on the reserve list of helpers).

She was very excited. Up at 6 am, dressed, suncream on, packed her bucket and spade and fishing net, even brought her favourite 'Seaside' Book.

Special requests made for her packed lunch.

Got to school only to find every one else was in school uniform ! The trip is NEXT Wednesday. How daft did I feel! Thankfully she wasn't too upset and we managed to nip back home to change clothes etc.

But I was in a quandary. A Whole day off work and no kids to watch - what on earth could I do?

(Annoyingly Mr S asked if I was going in to work - I have a feeling his Father's Day presents will be very few this weekend!)). Instead I called in to see an old friend from my college days. K lives in a marvellous old house, with 3 horses, 2 dogs, 4 chickens, husband, 2 children, (I think there are cats too), and visited regularly by 4 grand children ! I don't know how she fits it in.

It was a lovely catchup. Here's a blip of one of the dogs . "Deefur" is as daft as a brush - he only has one eye now after an accident with the horses (he chases them - they kick back!).

Me : "Unusual Name - Deefur. Where did it come from?"
K : 'D' for Dog !

I felt daft for asking !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.