AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Aberaeron

After a lazy relaxed start to the day (and a couple of unsuccessful phone calls about the oven) I headed into Aberaeron.

I wandered around the town - it really is pretty, with many of the buildings painted in mostly pastel colours. And they're (again mostly) kept up to, not like some places which can look a bit shabby if the paintwork isn't up to scratch. There are a few beautiful deep blue buildings too, including the Harbourmaster Hotel which, unsurprisingly enough, is on the harbour...

On the corner of the harbour is an ice cream shop. Since, after an overcast start, it was starting to brighten and warm up a bit, I thought it'd be rude not to try one. And, as an added incentive, all of their ice cream is made with honey, so every flavour is "honey and..." Well, you can see my reasoning. So I went for honey and pistachio and wandered along the harbour wall (past the bikers enjoying their own ice creams) to find a free bench. There was a lady on the next bench with a little watercolour set painting the harbour - I was dying for a look but not brave enough to ask!

Had a lovely chat with the lady in the tourist information office, and then headed for the deli. I spent a ridiculous amount of money and got some nice food for tea, then tootled off back to the car. Had a lovely evening with a good book and, once there's enough hot water, I'm getting a bath and going to bed. It's amazing how much 5 hours driving can tire you out!

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.