misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

City of Binghamton-- a blipping experience

(back-blip... too tired to edit and post)

This is not the one I set out to capture. That one was an overly impressive, heavily columned bit of architecture, interesting bank structure across the intersection.
I had illegally parked a block away in a commercial loading zone. I left my flashers on, so that seemed okay. I actually walked for a block after the cortisone shot at the spine Dr's appointment... it seems to be taking!. Walking a block is not possible, ever, for me.
Anyway, this blip story is of the Blip the Got Away variety .

As I was 'rushing' down the street to take the building that had not moved anywhere in a century and a half, two large baby carriages each pushed by 2 strong women rushed single file toward. I was so fixated on the bank I could not refocus on them to blip. They were in the shade of the buildings, the detail without flash would be difficult... and then there is the possible permissions. In each baby carriage were 4 toddlers. Nannies taking 8 smiling children to the park? They passed at a run. Please, accept the description.

I moved on to get the 'interesting bank' before my walking ability froze up. I took several snaps and noticed that my friend's camera orange battery light was flashing. It requires 2 AA batteries. So much to get used to with this camera. The long range is not as good either... but short focus is clearer than mine.

Well, as I pushed the button for the intersection lights to change... there is a voice inside that tells you to cross and then races you across the street. Well, as I turned to read this Welcome to City of Binghamton sign and took its picture (and my own self-p was in there, too), the voice must have changed several times. The poor traffic got stopped each time while I pushed the button but read the poster..
Okay. The bank building needs more time and a longer focus to get a decent blip. The history interested me. Read on if you care about dates and how they work when a new city in a new country is established. For me the math does not quite work out.. but I am maths disabled.
Across the top facade of the bank carved in granite or some kind of hard stone On three lines:
This Bank [nameless throughout}organized in 1822.
Has Occupied this site in 1855.
This present Building erected in 1923.

Explains the Baroque-Beaux Arts-German style.
Yes, I shall go back with my own camera on a later date.
Consider Dates:
Note please that on the welcome sign that Binghamton was established 1867 -- two years after the Am. Civil War when money was so tight to nearly ruin the northern victory, and 45 years after this nameless bank was established.
Seem a late date of 1867 to establish this city when my own Village of Oxford, 45 miles up the Chenango River which flows into the might Susquehanna in Binghamton, was established in 1789 -- the year the American Revolution ended.
Further research... what was Binghamton doing all this time and their anonymous bankers? Can we trust public signage as street blippers?

Whew! Thanks for the visit on a sunny midday in upstate New York. No ticket on my car as I rushed back, but another illegally parked car right behind me... with flashers on. A copy-cat.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.