Kingfisher

I'd been told there are kingfishers to be seen at the Wolseley Centre (near Rugeley, Staffordshire). I've been there many times and met people who have seen them.

It was such a gorgeous day that I decided I'd resist watching Andy Murray and go out for a wander with my camera. There were lovely butterflies in the wildflower meadow there - meadow browns, small skippers, ringlets etc. And I spoke to two of the guys who worked there. They asked me if the "paparazzi" were still around.

When I got to the viewing platform near where the mythical kingfisher is supposed to come, I knew what they meant. There were about half a dozen men with ridiculously long lenses, some trained on the opposite riverbank.

They were really helpful. I said I'd never seen the kingfisher and one of them pointed out that the female was sitting in the tree opposite.

This is NOT the best photo I've ever taken, but it is MY kingfisher !!!

Apparently the male is the one feeding the young at the moment and he shoots into the nest with fish from time to time. That was what the men were waiting for. They said they had been there every afternoon for the last few days. They had the most amazing photos.

I hung around for about an hour and a half but he didn't come. I was tempted to stay. But I know I am hopeless at capturing birds in flight.

And anyway - I've now seen the elusive Wolseley kingfisher :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.