Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Baa

Having spent all day yesterday waiting for a promised UPS delivery which did not materialise (apparently he couldn't find our house), I had cabin fever. I headed for a tramp round the moor, climbing up through the woods to check out the blaeberries on the way. I found a meagre amount. I had hoped after stealing my rosebuds, the deer might leave me some. Each year deer numbers are increasing here. (Had my dad been alive we'd have been getting their kidneys, still warm and practically pulsating, plopped into the breakfast frying pan).

The moor was a delight. Larks were singing, a light breeze blew and the light over the hills was beautiful. I met a few couples out walking, all holidaying from the south, and all remarking on the peacefulness of the area. The ling is out, but it'll be a few weeks before the honey scent of the heather greets me. This Blackface and her sturdy lamb behind were curious but not afraid as I stopped to take their picture. The view beyond is towards Alnham and the beyond the ridge is Scotland.

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.