B.A.C.K. to Basics

By AmyT

Swim Lesson #1

Hooray, we managed to finish up odd jobs at the house yesterday, and we made it to the lake this morning before Colby's game this afternoon/evening.

What a beautiful weekend it has been, temps in the 80's with low humidity... gorgeous! The kids were excited to run and dive into the water when we arrived, BJ grabbed the fishing gear, and of course, Mace and I brought up the rear (and the cooler/bags/towels). I was excited to see how Mace would like the water - turns out, he's not a fan.

The first time I lead him to the water's edge, he instantly starting drinking from it, as if it was a giant water bowl. Then I tried to lure him into it, he stood his ground ... on the beach. I wasn't finished though... so, I grabbed him up and we walked out to about 3' deep and I put him in the water to swim back to shore. This first swim was a bit anxious for him, breathing was fast and his heart rate up. I praised him and pet him once on shore, and we did it again, ... and again .... and again. Each time, getting a little bit deeper and further from shore. As he became more comfortable, I noticed that as he swam he was looking around, watching the kids and swimming slower towards shore.

Colby wanted to get in on the action of swim lessons and opted to take him out for me, thus allowing me to snap this pic :) In the end, we've decided that Mace can save himself if he fell into the lake, but I doubt he'll take pleasure in swimming for sport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.