katieyarbro

By katieyarbro

Leaving Fears at the Foot of the Cross

Day 8:
Our final VBS lesson was 1 Timothy on leaving your fears at the foot of the cross. Taught by Amy and Danielle, this was the most personal lesson which required the trust and vulnerability on both our part and theirs. As you can imagine, trust is a major issue for orphans who only know abandonment from the people they are supposed to be able to trust the most.
The activities that went with the lesson were a blindfolded trust walk and the writing down of fears to literally leave at the foot of the cross. I don't know if this lesson will stick with them because I personally have a hard time doing that myself, so how can I expect that from them?
Our last outing with the boys was a trip to a "shanty town" which simply means a groups of people who do not have structured homes, cars, running water, etc. We went to deliver clean water, which really wasn't even clean because it still has to be boiled before it can be taken in. People did not come rushing to us like I expected, but when we arrived at their homes, several would come out of one shack with buckets, trash cans, tubs, anything that would hold water. Kate explained that these people basically live off of the generosity of others. Can you imagine not knowing if you'll have enough water to last your family the week? Kate also explained that Casa Girasoles finds importance in the boys giving to those who fall lower than they do on the socio-economic scale. Humbling is not even close to what I felt. More like embarrassment for not being generous enough myself, when I clearly have more than enough to give.
Later that night as an official goodbye, we gave each boy a Baylor t-shirt and each and every one of them came to each of us offering a tight hug and from those who we were close with, a kiss on the cheek. After receiving one from Alexander and Eduardo, tears welled up. I am not emotional. I do not cry. But tonight I did. Why? I don't know; all I can explain is that I have never felt so loved or wanted, the last thing I wanted to do was leave. In a place that houses 40 abandoned boys, they still managed to make 8 strangers feel like family, and under Christ, we are.
Goodbyes weren't really goodbyes because shortly after we were bundled up in jackets and blankets (it gets very cold at night in the desert, if you didn't know) eating popcorn and watching The Croods, in Spanish of course.
Our time here was so short, but something I know I will never forget.
People always say that they "left their heart in (fill in the blank)...", but I've learned that is a real thing.
There is something special about this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.