dwalletta

By dwalletta

Resurrecting the Unicorn

As part of the run up to the forthcoming referendum, the BBC tonight screened Scotland, for richer or poorer? - looking at the economic case for Scotland either to constitute itself as an independent nation or remain part of the UK.

Most of the arguments were already well rehearsed, but I did discover that in the fifteenth century, Scotland had a gold coin called a unicorn. There was some speculation that come September, if Scotland is looking around for a unit of currency to replace the pound, we might resurrect the unicorn.

Earlier, I was looking for somewhere to play with a fisheye lens, and found myself in Jenners, Edinburgh's rather less grand cousin to Harrods. The fact they were having a summer sale had nothing whatsoever to do with my choice of playground. But I may be back later in the year with a purse full of unicorns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.