25

Today I was taken out to lunch. This doesn’t happen too often, actually. I might take clients out for lunch from time to time but it’s rare that the boot is on the other foot.

We went to The Strickland Arms, just south of Kendal, which is one of those pubs that has, to all intents and purposes, become a restaurant. The food there is very good, though, and lunch was very enjoyable.

Afterwards, as I headed back to the office I saw a little lane running along by the river Kent and decided to have a quick explore. After only a couple of hundred yards it passed through a gate and, as I wasn’t sure whether it was private property, I decided to turn around.

As I did so, I saw this bridge across the river. I was half-tempted to go across and explore but I needed to get back to the office. However, I did pause to wonder just how they determined the maximum number of people who could go on the bridge and also why they found it necessary to specify “at any one time”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.