at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Dada nomnom?

This is Ivy feeding Euan her lunch via skype... It was everybit as adorable as it sounds.

Ivy normally get up to have a 4am feed and up to play at 6am when Euan is home- i'm not such a light sleeper or a soft touch these days. She didn't wake me for a feed till 6 (if she stirred at 4 I didn't hear her and she went back to sleep) and when she'd done eating I put her back to bed again and she went back to sleep till 8. Hopefully the days without Euan will fix this as a habit and the early mornings will go for good.

She missed Euan today (hence the skype date), when it was time for us both to get out of bed I stood up to take her and normally she jumps straight up to be lifted off the bed- but today she kept crawling to the opposite side, sitting down and saying 'dada!' and laughing. Apparently i'm not as much fun to get out of bed with.

Went to the allotment this morning, to see the tomatoes that have grown EVERYWHERE. They need to be restrained I think. Then to the library to do some printing. In the afternoon we went to the sports hall to play on the bouncy castle.

We had a visit from John and Maureen, Ivy was asleep but 'conventialy woke up to see them'- she wasn't prodded by me... honest... I think she was slightly confussed as to who John was as he is considerably narrower round the middle than he was last time we saw them.

I made a no-sew ring sling using a scarf today- was incredibly comfortable, Ivy had a feed in it whilst we walked to the sports center. Her new method of requesting a feed is to 'assume the position' tap me on the shoulder and sign for milk as if to say 'i'm ready mum, milk me now'.

Ivy has many phrases she uses now- but since they're mostly mono-sylables it's hard to get your ear in to work out what she's saying. She kept saying 'Ga gi' and we couldn't work out what it meant, until I said 'good girl' and she made her sound. Yesterday I was tyring to persaude her to sit down in the tummy tub by praising her with good girl when she was- so tonight she was sitting down, congradulating herself with a 'ga gi', standing up and repeating this over and over again. It was very funny- altough maybe I should teach her that praise is something OTHER people give you...

Euan's made the grevious error of leaving me on my own- this means he will come back to a whole long list of 'I have a plan' s. Currently i'm thinking about my wedding dress- which I was going to make a simple infinity dress, but i'm getting better and better at sewing so I might actualy attempt something more complex. This may simply involve creating my own textile for the skirt, or given enough time to plan and become over ambitious I might try and borrow a dress form and try my handat draping . Other plans involve going toilet paper free and using cloth wipes just like Ivy. That'll teach him to leave me alone with my imagination.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.