Today....

I started the tedious process of obtaining duplicates of all the documents/cards I lost when my bag was stolen on Saturday.

First stop was the Police station to make a Denuncia, basically a report with a crime number, however unless you can speak fluent Spanish, which I can't you have to have an interpreter, fortunately our Police station employs a very nice man called Jose Ramon, who can speak 9 languages and he is there to interpret for you. Doing the Denuncia took and hour and a half.

Second stop, the bank to order a new debit card.

Third stop was the Phone House to start the process of getting a new mobile, again she only spoke Spanish but I new enough to answer the questions and give appropriate replies, hopefully I will have a new phone tomorrow. Fortunately when I got my HTC in December I took an annual insurance policy out, so hopefully nothing to pay.

Fourth stop was Skoda to order a new car key, at a cost of 128 euros!!!

Fifth stop was the medical centre to obtain a new SIP card, can't get that until tomorrow.

Sixth stop the Centro Medico in Torreveija, this is were you go to renew your driving licence, however, because mine has been stolen I have to go to Trafico in Alicante, but I have to have an appointment.

So, I have made my appointment - online - for 1st August at 11.30am.

For all these procedures I have had to produce - the Denuncia, my Residencia certificate, my Padron certificate,(this tells them I am on the electoral register, and my Passport.

The total cost of my loss, including all the running about is probably 800 euros, so is it worth claiming on the insurance, when you take into account the excess you have to pay, and the fact that the premium will probably go up next year, because we have made a claim - answers on a postcard to.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.