I call that a Wildflower Meadow

But they call it "Kyte's Orchard"

One of my fellow early-morning swimmers is a watercolour artist. She's brilliant and I have one of her originals on the wall in my lounge. She's a member of the Birmingham Watercolour Society (and lots of other notable artistic organisations) and they currently have their Summer Exhibition at Hanbury Hall, near Droitwich.

She gave me an invitation (not that you need one - as all visitors are invited to go and look round and vote for their favourite work) and I decided to make further use of my National Trust membership too.

It's a grand house, but the weather was too nice to spend too long inside, in spite of the lush furnishings and interesting history.

There's an intricate Parterre, a walled garden, an Orangery (where they invite you to borrow picnic blankets to sit on the lawn) - and Kyte's Orchard (for flowers) which gave me the blip.

The pic doesn't do it justice - it's seriously spectacular.

I thought I might as well do the Big Butterfly Count as well, but I was amazed. I saw huge numbers of all three varieties of white but NOTHING else ! Not a peacock or a gatekeeper in sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.