Entrepreneurs

This morning in an uncharacteristic burst of sociality, I was up and out of the house by 9:30 to meet a friend, do some shoe shopping, and take care of my kitty-sitting charge, Chaplin, after which I ended up at the movies, and not the local 16-screen cine-plex with its ear-splitting sound system which most people I know avoid like the plague, but the Pickford, our local, lovely, and lovingly restored old-fashioned theater with a much gentler atmosphere.

On my way home I passed by Western Washington University which is just a few blocks from where I live and I spotted a young man standing on the lawn practicing his trumpet which I thought would make a great blip. Of course my camera was home and by the time I got it he was gone, but you know what they say about one door closing and another opening.

Look what I found in the other door – this charming scene that always reminds me of things that happened when I was a kid or when my kids were kids. You don’t see it often any more. I gave this enterprising group points for their enthusiasm but when I stopped to buy some lemonade I gently told them they might not want to yell so loud at passing cars because they scared me half to death -- I thought I was about to hit one of them or the dog. The dog’s name is Layla, by the way, or something that sounded like it, and she just had her 15th birthday yesterday. The lemonade was delicious by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.