Kiteseeker

By Kiteseeker

How Head

Late starts at Swindale near Shap meant time was tight to find a suitable blip. I had thought to stop on the way back but we were so wet and cold the need for a hot bath took precedence.

Having had rather a lot of rain recently I spent most of my time splashing through water! However I was more than pleased to be lying second when I finished although there were still people out on the course.

We are staying on Kirkstone Road in Ambleside and spotted this ancient building as I gave Jet a walk. This is the oldest inhabited building in Ambleside. It was once the lodge of the Master Forester of the barony of Kendal with parts dating back to the 16th century.What struck me was the amazing chimneys capped with slate (presumably to stop the ingress of water) and the ancient lead guttering and down pipes.

Earlier start and shorter course tomorrow let's hope the weather improves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.